The year in 140 characters.

#140xmasltr

I was working on my paragraph for our family Christmas letter. It’s always frustrating for me. What do you include? What sounds like bragging? How do you phrase a list?

So I said on twitter,

if our Christmas letter were just 140 characters, it might be easier than several paragraphs. Hmm. What would a 140Christmas letter be like?

My friend Joanna asked for mine. I knew someone would.  When I told her I didn’t know, she said,

well, once you’ve figured it out, it’ll have written itself🙂

So I started writing. It was wonderful. I had to focus, to condense, to look at themes and major events of the year. And to not worry about who needed to be made happy by what mention.

So here it is:

son married. dog buried. table talks treasured. parents aging. writing continues. loving kids, wife and God more all the time. #140xmasltr

So, if you had to write a Christmas letter in 140 characters, less 10 for the #140xmasltr hashtag (for twitter people), what’s yours?

(you can put it here, but if you are on twitter, put it there too).

6 responses to “The year in 140 characters.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention The year in 140 characters. | Levite Chronicles -- Topsy.com

  2. What a great exercise🙂

    Here’s mine.

    Got married🙂 Moved house (twice). Grieved for my mum. Found poems. Walked in beauty. Worried too much. Kept opening my heart #140xmasltr

    The other part is… got strength, over and over and over, from those I have come to know and love online. Thanks x

  3. Rested. Got engaged. Enjoyed the pretty. Son went to uni. Dreamed. Loved. Wrote. Took photographs. Appreciated all that I have.

  4. thank you, joanna, for pushing me. it was a great and helpful exercise. Good coaching from you.

    And thank you for doing it yourself.

  5. nice, Debbie. and congratulations

  6. Pingback: [TIP] 140 Characters or Bust: Get your Tweeter on « billyburgwick