Processing

leeI’ve been gathering visuals recently. Yesterday, I shot video of a ribboncutting for a new store. Using three videocameras, a DSLR, and my phone, I captured our Community Carnival at church last night. I’ve got vacation video that’s unedited. I’ve got photographs of several summer events around church that haven’t been edited or shown.

Capturing data isn’t hard anymore, not as hard as it was for my dad with his Super8 movie camera. He got 3 minutes at a time. And that was it. Someone else took care of the processing.

Right now, I’m the one that has to do the processing. And I know that for things I produce, every minute of video takes an hour of editing and scripting and adding music and rendering. (And that’s using Movie Maker. I’ll bet real editors take even longer).

I love it. I really do. I love making a one minute video of an inflatable slide.

But it does take time. And at some point, I gotta wonder how much time to spend processing, and how much time to just live live.

(And I won’t even ask about scrapbooking. Or blogging.)

Inflating the Matterhorn from Jon Swanson on Vimeo.

3 responses to “Processing

  1. Jon, we should talk. Soon.

    Maybe next week?

    Not talk about talking, but actually talk.

  2. This seems like the theme for the day. So easy to capture tons of pics (or video). So hard to take all that raw data and turn it into a compelling story. So much harder yet to get out from behind the camera and live life.

    Back to processing data.

  3. Johanna Fenton

    Jon, last week I made lots of back-ups of photos, videos and documents. I felt good. But I couldn’t feel 100% good. Because of one thing, namely: my notebook journal. I wondered, Well, should I photocopy my journal? Should I scan it? What if there’s a fire and it burns up? At least I’d have my videos and photos (backups stored elsewhere).

    I’d be pretty sad if I lost my journal to flames or flood. Or spilled milk. But such is life. My thoughts turn heavenward, grateful this life is not all there is.