Where my words are going

On Friday night, I will be performing a wedding ceremony for a delightful young couple. This is the easiest couple that I’ve ever worked with in wedding planning (though no one has been particularly difficult). I don’t know whether or not the ease has anything to do with the fact that this is the first couple I’ve ever married where my relationship with the groom included changing his diapers.

Our kids and I had a deal. I would not do their wedding ceremonies. Why?

I cry.

I’ve choked up a bit at every wedding ceremony I’ve performed.  I choke up watching Hallmark commercials. If there are good enough stories, I choke up watching McDonalds commercials.

So when it came to doing weddings for Andrew and for Hope, we just agreed that there was no way. And then Andrew and Allie came and asked. It’s outdoors. The two of them are not together connected at a church in town. “But I cry,” I said. “So does my dad,” Allie said.

So Friday night at Lakeside Park, I’ll be performing the peculiar speech act that will make Andrew and Allie AndrewandAllie. Jim (Allie’s dad) and I will look at each other, sniffle, and then I’ll get this couple onto the next part of life.

Between now and then, I have a lot of writing. I’ll be doing all the conversations that are part of my day job. I’ll be doing 300 words. I’ll start teaching an online course in Church Administration (my first time teaching in that format and my first college level teaching in nearly 15 years). I’ll be leading a study of the book of Jude I’m doing. I’ll be finishing the wedding ceremony and reading it over and over so that there are no emotional surprises in it for me. I’ll try to get a Google apps conversion done. I’ll be cleaning and fixing. And I’ll be spending some time thinking about all the things that I wish I had said or done over the last 23 years.

I know that you aren’t supposed to tell people when you are taking a blogging break. Somehow, I don’t quite know how to do things that I’m supposed to do or not do.  For now, I had to give myself permission to be quiet in a place or two.

I’ll be back here in a couple weeks I’m guessing.

Thanks for your support.

allie hope andrew nancy jon swanson

14 responses to “Where my words are going

  1. Congrats Andrew and Allie!

    Jon, I’m glad I’m not qualified to marry my children. I’m not a crier, but I’m sure to be a mess when I give my three away.

    One other thought came to me reading this…

    You should introduce one of those Disciples you’ve been talking about to guest blog for you. You deserve this and other breaks. And I’d love to meet them; if it’s time.

    See you in a couple of weeks.

  2. My father-in-law was a pastor and he wouldn’t do the weddings for any of his children either.

  3. There’s a time for everything, including taking a break and doing your kid’s wedding ceremony. Be sure to add “Enjoy this!” to your list…

  4. I’m so happy for you and your family. Best of luck writing, Jon, and congrats!

  5. I appreciate you telling us.

    I’m sure everything will be wonderful on Friday. Will be thinking of you all x

  6. Congratulations!! To the couple and to you guys. I know that I was emotional and so was my dad at my wedding. In fact I was ready to plunge forward and get through the “mushies” and he was the one … as we started down the aisle … to tell me “slow down honey – we’re only going to do this once” kind of made me realize the importance of the day and everything that would come after it. May you (Andrew and Allie) be blessed with a life full of moments that you’ll want to slow down for, cause you’re only going to do them once.
    God Bless.

  7. I’m crying reading this and I don’t even know Andrew and Allie.

    Jim is right. Enjoy this.

    And pack tissues. Even if rehearse it a million times between now and then, there’s no way you will come through it without a few tears. You’re far too human.

    Love to you and Nancy during this wonderful time. Take notes because I’ll need to learn. Our kids will be there in 30 or 40 years once they’re allowed to date.😉

  8. Another word of congrats Andrew and Allie… may God deeply bless your day of celebration – and the years to come!

    And Jon – enjoy the day. Tears are OK. If I was there and saw you cry, I’d probably join in too.

  9. dear friends. thank you.

  10. You’ll do great, man. And don’t worry – I get choked up all the time. All part of being a messy human, I guess.🙂

    Much love.

  11. you know I’m praying for you…especially about this particular aspect of the ceremony🙂 but you will not be the only one crying…and it will be okay. and you might surprise yourself too. as you say, you’ve never done this, in quite this way before… love you.

  12. Ok…perhaps I’m a bit silly, but this post made me cry. Congratulations, and have a wonderful celebration.

  13. Pingback: A question of stopping (from the archives) « 300 words a day

  14. Pingback: How Blogging Made Me Rich | Confident Writing