an apology to Apple users

As of February 15, 41 million iPhones have been sold. As of May 3, 1 million iPads have been sold. I have no idea how many MacBooks are in use.

On Saturday, Dave wrote to me to tell me my RSS wasn’t clearly available at 300wordsaday.com. Turns out he was using an iPad.

Today, Bethany wanted to use a projector to illustrate a talk at church. She hadn’t brought an adapter for her MacBook. My initial response when she asked about checking around was, “We’re not a Mac place.” After trying several workarounds, she used the Mac in a dark room.

And so, after 25 years of taking sides in the PC/Mac debate, I want to apologize.Twenty-five years ago, we came within 3 months of being Mac people. We didn’t wait. We bought a Columbia PC-clone. And since then, all the knowledge I have acquired about computers has been on the PC side.

What I realized today is that most of us who use computers have taken sides. We have said, “I’m not buying one of those.” As a result, we don’t stock the cables and the concepts that would allow us to help the “other side.” We don’t create the apps that would make what we have easy-to-use for the “other side.” We don’t actively help.

dark room with a small computer screenThat’s fine, I suppose. But today it meant that a thoughtful college student did her best with a tiny screen. And it means that I could have been sending a fairly good daily devotional to Apple people in a thoughtful app for a long time. But haven’t.

When it comes to things like computers, sports teams, cars, and coffee, sometimes we spend a lot of energy on being right when we could focus more on being helpful.

So I’m sorry. Tell me what cable to buy to help the next Bethany. And I’m already talking with a friend about an app.

Will you forgive me?

8 responses to “an apology to Apple users

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention an apology to Apple users « Levite Chronicles -- Topsy.com

  2. You’re forgiven, Jon. I was once in your shoes. Then I bought my wife a macbook at my son’s suggestion — he’s a computer guy who works with windows machines all day every day. (His reasoning? My relatives with Macs never need help — just the ones with Windows.)

    The cable is a “Mini DVI to VGA.” That part is a pain, but Macbooks are so thin there’s not room for a normal port.

  3. My MacBook Pro came with the adapter cable. I threw it in my backpack and always have it. You never know when you’ll need it. It’s just one of many cables I need in my digital life.

  4. Good post, Jon – booster-ism has a cost.

  5. Note to self read this blog in the morning not late at night that way valuable lesson can be applied during the day.

    Love the concept of focusing on being helpful not right. This applies to working with clients however one might define them.

  6. Jon-

    I’ve been reading 300 words for months on my MacBook and iPhone in RSS via Google Reader and the MiniRSS application, respectively.

    So while the principle of making sure you can accommodate a wider range of users is sound, don’t assume the scope of missed opportunity is as wide as it may have looked initially.

  7. thanks, James. this feedback helps a lot.