Completely Committed

NancyThat’s what we said 27 years ago today in a church in Illinois. Ronald McDonald said the words, we repeated them. And among the three of us, he wasn’t the clown.

For twenty-seven years, Nancy has been teaching me, God helping her, what that kind of relationship, that kind of love, means.

You wouldn’t read what you read here or in any other part of my life without her patience and encouragement and willingness at times to say, “you don’t really want to say that.” She doesn’t understand how significant her influence is. I don’t always either. But I am grateful.

So we’re gone while you read this, off to a state park lodge, off to spend time together and then to come back to the conversations and meals and projects. Though the latter seems unromantic, it isn’t. It’s where the meaning of “completely committed” is worked out.

Happy anniversary, Nancy.

7 responses to “Completely Committed

  1. Congratulations what an achievement I’m actually 27 and I’ve been married for almost 7 years. Couples like you are my inspiration. God really does make the difference.

  2. Many congrats to both of you!

    I’m looking forward to meeting Nancy in person before too long.

  3. Congratulations!

  4. Happy anniversary you two kids!

  5. Congratulations and nice photo of your wife!

  6. I love the way you have of speaking a blessing on your wife when you speak of her.