put it on the list.

#moleskine list

I work from both sides of my brain. I can move from choosing shots for a short video to being asked about budget allocations to being asked about moving a person from one office to another. I love the variety, figuring out how to tell a story and figuring out how to get the network connection working in the new space.

I’m finding, however, that the shifts are harder. I’m needing to stop and let my brain move from one side to the other.

Part of what is helping these days is working to get major projects that must get done on a list. And must-get-done-today items. And stuff that I’m told during those moments of brain-shifting.

I’m using a moleskine notebook with squares. It’s expensive (though I used a coupon) which makes me take it seriously. It has little squares which allows me to use it how I want.

Here are some list thoughts today.

1. Be willing to turn the page and start a new list. Sometimes the old list just needs to be retired.

2. Put really simple things on the list (like “make coffee”). Get a victory.

3. Put projects that people hand you during the day on the list so you can cross them off when you get it done. (If you don’t, you’ll get to the end of the day and think, “What, exactly, did I do today?”.)

4. If you have three words for the year, put something from them on your list.

5. Some days do what  Becky says. Limit yourself to six items on the list. It will feel less intimidating.

6. If there is one project that has to get done, make that be the ONLY item on a blank page in your book. Really.

So, what am I missing? What works for you?

By the way, I know it’s not how David Allen says to do it. I’m sorry.

5 responses to “put it on the list.

  1. Excellent points. Number 4, connecting to your big goals for the year, is especially important.

    And to add a little to my challenge to limit it to six things, make it your six most important things: http://www.smallbizsurvival.com/2009/01/6-most-important-things.html

  2. can one of the six be little? Please? Thanks for adding the link.

  3. Of course one can be little. Whatever works for you.

  4. I make a list and ask myself what tasks will anyone care about 1 week from now? If the answer is no one, cross it off the list. If the answer is not many, bottom of the list. Review bottom of list in a week, and cross off any repeat “not many.” It is amazing how clear priorities become and how quickly you can drop non value added activity.

  5. Pingback: do something concrete. « Levite Chronicles