Daily Archives: January 25, 2010

Stop counting minutes

Nancy and I walk at the mall. I look at signs. (I look at Nancy, too, but don’t tell her.)

overage protectionThe other night, I saw this one and thought, “I’d love over-age protection.”

And then I read closer. Apparently, if I stop counting the minutes and just enjoy the phone, I’ll be protected from overage.

I think there’s probably some merit in that thought. When I spend inordinate amounts of time trying to save minutes, I end up just feeling more exhausted, older. On the other hand, when I relax and live, listening in conversations, concentrating, being attuned…wow, I feel younger just thinking about it.

Maybe that’s why Jesus encouraged his followers to become like little children. Not childish, mind you, just curious, engaged.

Not counting minutes.