I’m a Mac. And I’m a Buick.

The “service engine soon” light was on.

Again.

It came on a couple months ago. The guy at the shop said it was the EGR system. The valve itself is expensive to replace. Cleaning the lines to the valve is less so. He suggested starting that way. I agreed.

(I think it’s like having an angioplasty instead of a heart valve replacement.)

The light stayed off for awhile. Then it came on.

They reset the light.

It came on again.

I finally went back in this week.

The warning system is computer driven. The sensors, used to the cruddy ines, when faced with the clean lines didn’t know how to handle the flow and return an error.

The mechanic said that he’d need to ___. I looked blank, I think.

So he said, “It’s like the computer is running Windows 95 and we need to upgrade to Windows 7.”

“No no no, not 7,” I said. I’m always uncertain about new versions of software for the first year or so.

“What’s better,” he said. “Vista?”

The joking side of my mind raced, trying to figure out how to respond.

“I don’t know,” he said. “I’m a Mac guy.”

And then he fixed our car. And charged nothing for that part of the work.

His metaphor was perfect for the issue he was dealing with. I understood completely.

But apparently, after working with car issues all day, he likes to go home to technology that works.

3 responses to “I’m a Mac. And I’m a Buick.

  1. So when you gonna get a Mac, Jon?

  2. Makes one wonder if the mechanic was actually that tech-savvy or if the vernacular has become THAT common. That was a nice little ‘musing’ either way. Thanks!

  3. Chris, I think that he probably is. I’m wondering why he thought I be. (by the way, I wrote about him once before at http://www.smallbizsurvival.com/2009/09/just-simple-phone-call.html ) Paul, probably never. Nothing personal.