8 questions for deciding what to do.

We’re all making lists. We’re all looking for three words, for next steps. We all know that we just need to start, that the first step is the most important, that finishing matters. We all know all those things. We all know how to find the tools to help.

Here are 8 questions to help you decide where in your life you want to apply those tools.

  1. What do I want to finish?
  2. What do I want to change?
  3. What do I want to maintain? (Sometimes you are actually doing fine about some things).
  4. What do I want to refine?
  5. What do I want to stop doing?
  6. What do I need to do, though wanting has nothing to do with it?
  7. What can I finally throw away?
  8. What do I want to go back to?

14 responses to “8 questions for deciding what to do.

  1. Thanks for posting this. This is really exactly what I need to consider prior to identifying new resolutions.

  2. This is the kinda foundation people need to accomplish their goals, dreams, & to reform what they are doing wrong. Very nice, I really can see this helping me out.

  3. So clear and precise – and yet adaptable to anyone. I’ll definitely be referring to this during my week of planning/goal setting/reflection.
    Thank you!

  4. Oh how I disdain “resolutions”. I resolved to never do them again a few years ago. That’s the one thing I was able to stick to.🙂

    I love these questions, though – not just for the new year, but for anytime you’re trying to renegotiate life.

  5. Very nice!

    I wonder what would happen if folks spent less time on New Year’s Resolutions, and more on comprehensive thinking about their future. Imagine coming up with a *plan* for the New Year, instead of just half a dozen things to do.

  6. Pingback: Twitted by steelepierce

  7. Pingback: It’s list time « Karmicangel’s Blog

  8. Pingback: Twitted by happysoul

  9. thanks, Jon…I will be pondering and sharing these questions. This is a good time for it.

  10. Pingback: Otto domande per pianificare il futuro — Sviluppo delle Organizzazioni|Growing Organizations

  11. Pingback: Otto domande per pianificare il futuro — Sviluppo delle Organizzazioni|Growing Organizations

  12. Pingback: and now we find out. « Levite Chronicles

  13. Ah! Thank you for posting this!| There have been quite a bit of opposing
    info posted, this dispells, puts to rest
    some of what I’ve read.