starting 2010 early

I’m reading about friends working on their goals for next year. I’m always jealous of people who are doing that kind of goal setting.

Christmas lightsHowever, as I was putting up Christmas lights today, having read about one of those people, I thought. “Why wait a month to start? If it’s important, start now.”

I could, I suppose, worry about what I won’t get done before the end of 2009. That’s a long list.

But what if I rolled December into 2010? I could have a 13 month year. I should be able to get everything done if I have an extra month.

And, by starting this week, I’ll be a month ahead of everyone else when they get to 2010.

6 responses to “starting 2010 early

  1. In the past, I’ve always waited until January, but by then I’m a month behind. I thought I would get a jump on 2010 and begin goal setting and planning now so that come January 1 I’m ready to roll.

  2. I love the idea of creating an extra month… banishes the guilt at the things undone too!

  3. You make me laugh.

  4. David.

    How, exactly, did you know that it was your comment on twitter that triggered my thinking? Amazing.

  5. I like your thinking! But I guess it’s like starting your work week a little earlier by trying to get through some emails on Sunday night. It doesn’t always mean you are more productive (in fact sometimes less so because it means you’re not as fresh or focused.). I admit I’m also planning and plotting 2010 now, but I don’t intend to miss a little time just to “be” without “doing” over the holidays, the year goes too quickly!🙂

  6. ah, wonderwebby good thinking. However, I’m not thinking about abandoning sabbath as much as making adjustments as soon as you need to make them.

    For example, if I decide that one of my goals for 2010 is to write a book, why wait? Why not begin taking those steps now? If one of my goals is to eat right and exercise, why wait?

    Does that make sense?