An experiment in ROI

We share a phone plan in our house. A year or so ago, Andrew got a blackberry curve as his phone (his dollars, too). I never could quite justify the expense of a smart phone and so have ‘struggled’ along.

I say ‘struggled’ because it has been pretty easy. However, this week I started a 2 month test. Andrew downgraded (getting married next June is making money more real). I have his old BB.

My question for myself is simple: do I get a dollar a day of real value? Not fun, not sheer connectedness, value.

I’ll let you know.

6 responses to “An experiment in ROI

  1. Wow, Jon! This rather surprise me! Since when is fun not real value?

  2. Be sure to let us know what your conclusion is…

  3. Kay. Of course fun is real value. I am learning to value laughing. However, out entertainment budget is small (a couple movies a year, no cable) and I think that most of what we do spend, we spend together. Thus, if it is just fun for me and doesn’t add additional value (though I’m not sure what that means), I’ll prpobably not keep it. And Paul, I’ll keep you posted.

  4. And “connectedness” is not “real value,” either? This, from possibly my favorite social guru? From the man who invented “300 Words A Day”?

    While you’re keeping us posted on your discoveries, I know you’ll fill us in on your evolving definition of “value,” too. I sense some probing assessments and flowering visions here!

  5. Christopher Bowser

    My smartphone helps me to do my job better and more efficiently. It helps with my duties at church as well. Recently a colleague and I were attending a tour of a small start-up company at the Purdue Technology Center. We were to go to a banquet faciity nearby. My GPS was clueless for some reason. The smart phone saved the day by providing spoken directions and a moving map to my spoken request to find the banquet facility.

    Value? You bet. Any way I can define it. peace

  6. Pingback: back to a dumb phone « Levite Chronicles