Just ask

I was stuck on a major project. I asked my friend Sam for help. The biggest part of his help was listening. But shooting a chunk of video and loaning me lights and expertise for another part didn’t hurt.

I tweeted, asking who wanted to learn something about teaching. Becky wanted to learn something to help her teach a workshop that night. We talked a bit. I’m not sure she heard anything new, but she did get confirmation that one piece was exactly right.

i have a questionWhat we talked about was starting the workshop by asking the group for ideas.

My friend Rob asked how I was doing this morning. His question made me think about how I usually answer that question.

We need to ask. We need to listen.

What do you need to get on the outside of your head? What do you need to ask someone?

3 responses to “Just ask

  1. I feel a bit handicapped when it comes to asking questions, as I am a home-office person (fewer opp’s to ask people over the water cooler). But it is a great idea to ask – though one needs to feel that they will be warmly accepted by the one they ask, before the asking can begin.

  2. 1. twitter is a watercooler. So is facebook. And even little asks build the habit. I think. What do you think?

    2. I’m starting to wonder whether I need to worry as much about being accepted when I ask questions. I mean, it depends on the question, very much. For example, “Can I have that new job” is a different question than”so, are you happy with the Flip you bought.” But I’m starting to think that the less of my self-worth I invest in reducing my ignorance, the more I learn and, intriguingly, the more my self-confidence at least grows.

    Though I understand completely (from the inside) the “relationship before request” feeling.

  3. Agreed on both accounts, Jon.

    I just now remember James 4:2: “You don’t have what you want because you don’t ask God for it.”

    Maybe I am taking that out of context, but I think it does apply here.