Not sure what to think

We were looking at school supplies the other night. Mostly, it was nostalgia. With our younger child starting college in a month or so, we don’t need rounded scissors or tablet paper.

It’s still fun to look.

notebooks on store shelfHope pulled a ring binder off the shelf and began to read the cover: “What is the perfect back-to-school accessory? An eye exam.” It was an advertisement for the optometrist located in the front of the store.  It was in every one of the notebooks, in the space where the purchaser can insert their own title page. It’s a place where I’m never before seen anything but blank.

It took someone a lot of work, inserting the pages in hundreds of notebooks. It took someone some selling, talking the store into allowing indirect cross promotion. It will likely increase business a bit for the optometrist, simply because of the convenience.

And yet, I like that blank space. I like to start my notebooks from scratch.

You know?

Kind of like a new week.

——

Of course, my gratuitous link to tablet paper takes you to my Amazon site and gets me clicks. So maybe I’m no better.

3 responses to “Not sure what to think

  1. It sure makes sense as an advertising space, but it does seem more labor-intensive than it’s probably worth. A sign on the front of the shelves would probably have as much effect.

    As for liking notebooks blank, the ad wouldn’t bother me unless for some reason I couldn’t remove it.

    I’d be interested to see how well the cross-promotion worked for them, but I’d bet it wouldn’t be markedly different from standard store signage.

  2. I don’t think it is too invasive. I’d want to see metrics on effectiveness, and of course you are assuming permission was given and it wasn’t simply an overzealous marketing department.

    BUT… I get what you mean about wanting to start fresh. I think I would probably take the ad out and leave it on the shelf while still in the store.

  3. Sarah I wonder, however, if the hope is that people will take the ad with them rather than just seeing it at the store. The ad goes into the cart, into the bag, into the house. Maybe, the optometrist hoped, an ad at home would change things.

    Of course, Chris would leave the ad in the store.

    I think I need to talk with someone, just to find out whether this worked.