Breaking news

I sit in my office.

I’m waiting for news.

Our son has an engagement ring. He has been saving for a long time. He paid cash. He has money left.

We’re pretty sure we know what the answer will be. But we’re still waiting.

Nancy’s at home. I’m at my office. We are both checking twtter, checking flickr.

Yes. Really. We know that Andrew will let us know with twitter. tweet about andrew's engagement.

And then it comes. The first time I see the ring is on twitpic. The way Nancy and I know that we can stop talking about Andrew’s girlfriend and start talking about his fiance is by both seeing it on twitter.

That should come as no surprise, I guess. Some of you know about how they got together by reading about it at gnmparents.com (You’re fired) My family has bee part of my writing here, mostly because of what I have learned about life, about God, about communication and community and caring by living with these people. And I’ve mentioned them often.

So I thought you’d be interested in how much of a collection of geeks we’ve become.

Watching twitter.

Waiting for news.

13 responses to “Breaking news

  1. Congrats on the good news!

  2. Congratulations to Andrew and his fiance! Exciting times, and another stepping stone in the path of life.

  3. I just love GOOD news!

  4. Thanks, Rick. And thanks for the retweet!

  5. Jim a contrast to some of what you face regularly, isn’t it?

  6. Wow, great news! Congrats to the young couple. M.

  7. Ah, maybe what I need is to get my daughter’s boyfriend on Twitter! Yeah, that’s the ticket!

    Cool that you and Nancy can learn this simultaneously, by the same technology that first told the world about stuff like the Hudson River airliner landing.

  8. Congratulations and a tip o’ the hat to the happy couple, Jon! (Dang! No matter how many times I type that I STILL have to go back and delete that non-existent “h”!)

    Hey, be sure to let the happy couple know they’re invited to join our newlyweds/nearlyweds class at church!😀

  9. Scott Brune

    Congratulations…Another chapter of life begins!!

  10. sorry i’m not keeping up with the responses. But thank you.

  11. Tears. In. Eyes. Congrats!

  12. 🙂 New adventures in the Family Swanson….