enough about me

picture of coffee cup that says You on it. “Enough about me. Let’s talk about you. What do you think about me?”

It’s a joke. You’ve heard it. In fact, some of you even read Liz tell this joke long ago.

But I thought about it this morning as I thought about prayer.

“Enough about my problems. Let’s talk about You. What are You going to do for me?”

I thought about it this morning as I thought about a conversation with a friend.

“That must be difficult. Last year the same thing happened to me.”

I thought about it as I talked with another friend about writing posts.

“When I talk about my struggles, I want to help people know I’m human. But the result is that the post becomes about me.”

I thought about it in relation to branding. The more we talk about personal branding, the more we end up talking about…ourselves.

I thought about it in relation to vanity searches and blog statistics and …

Sorry. That’s getting too preachy.

So enough about what I think.

What do you think…about “ME”ism.

9 responses to “enough about me

  1. I am thinking about boundaries and how blogging keeps ME from absorbing other people’s emotions. I am using the FaithTrust workbook…healthy boundaries in a blogging community – what does that look like?
    It is triggered because I seem to be writing so much about ME

    faithtrustinstitute.org

  2. Seems like there’s a time – and a place – for “me-ism” in what we do, Jon. I mean, I tell stories about what happened to me, but find a way to relate it to life. But when you get down to it – it’s still about, y’know, me.

    But I think that’s what lends genuineness to it, and that’s what folks respond to. They’ll be able to tell the difference between “ALL about me” and “I’ve been there too”.

    It’s the same with Jesus, right? He can honestly and truthfully tell us He understands our troubles – ’cause He’s been there too. And when He says it, it’s like He comes alongside us and puts His arm around us.

    That’s what folks are lookin’ for.

  3. Jon,
    we talk about ourselves, so that maybe others can see some lesson in our story.

    we do our best to be a parable – people understand that better I think.

    still, too much me stops us from seeing what others are going through!

    once again – it comes down to balance, for me.

    @debworks

  4. I guess another way to say it is that there’s me (hey, it’s reality) and there’s ME (hey, everyone look at ME!!!!). One attracts by its transparency, the other repels by its self-absorption. Being a servant with shields down is OK, methinks!

  5. Thanks for the comments so far. You are pushing my thinking. (And I thought
    about writing another post this morning that would be a rebuttal to myself:
    “Nevermind. That last one *was* about me.”)

    Some questions
    1. Is one deciding factor in talking about ME, determining my motivation?
    2. Is another deciding factor, determining whether I ever actually listened?
    3. Is another deciding factor, determining where the story goes, whether to
    focusing, for example, on how messed up I was or on how gracious someone
    else was?

  6. Mike Van Huisen

    I agree with Robert and Steve that people need, appreciate and respond to genuineness and transparency in what you say. But I also think that the crux of this issue is listening. Oh how hard it is to listen without feeling the need to keep the conversation going or trying to solve the other person’s problem or worse yet, just wanting to get it over with. People need a listening ear. A response like Jon’s “That must be difficult. Last year the same thing happened to me” often communicates to the other person, “you didn’t hear my heart.” But they’ve heard something more about me that they didn’t need.

  7. I think it all has to do with attitude. If we come across as being egotistical, we won’t be heard. If we speak with an attitude of humility, more will listen.

    But then, that isn’t always true… how many twitter followers do some of the most obnoxious celebrities have?

  8. Oh Mike.

    I love how you phrased that: “But they’ve heard something more about me that
    they didn’t need.”

  9. Paul –
    But maybe we are following them not for conversation but for what being
    identified with them confers about us? I may love to watch the excesses of
    ego as entertainment.

    But when my life is falling apart?

    I’d prefer you.