making me cry

glenda watson hyatt presenting at SOBconI’m sitting at SOBcon, listening to Glenda Watson Hyatt.

She is a disability conscience.

It’s working.

She is talking about how to make blogs accessible. She is talking about how to to make it possible for people who can’t hear or can’t see or who are color blind or who have limited movement to have access to what you want to say.

And I am sitting here with tears in my eyes.

Not because of how amazing it is for someone with cerebral palsy who can only type with her left thumb. If that were why I was in tears, I’m afraid that it would be too close to pity.

It’s because as a conscience she is inviting me to consider whether what I am doing as a blogger, what I am doing as a pastor, what I am doing in my conversations takes into account the person I am talking with.

And the truth?

I’m not thinking about how to help people hear what I am saying.

That’s not false guilt. I get false guilt. This is real guilt.

I don’t speak up. I never thought about putting labels on my pictures that would be helpful for a screen reader. I haven’t thought about people who are colorblind not being able to read links clearly. I haven’t thought about people who might not know what SOBcon is. (A conference that is helping people learn how to blog better).

I never thought.

Glenda, typing with her left thumb, put her presentation into an ebook about accessable blogging.

Thank you Glenda.

12 responses to “making me cry

  1. Thanks for letting your tears make me think too.

  2. Ditto here too Pastor!

  3. you see, THIS is the kind of stuff I want to see coming out of all of these conferences.

    I admit I’m suffering a bit of conference burn out (and I’m not even attending them!). Same people talking about the same thing over and over…and all that.

    But this….THIS has proven to me that there is still value to be had at these events. This proves to me that if smart people are talking about smart things and ACTUALLY teaching people stuff, that there’s still something going on at some of these conferences that’s worthwhile.

    Thanks for sharing.

  4. Susan, well said. What was so compelling was that this presentation took me
    completely by surprise. I wasn’t expecting to be transfixed.

    And what was even more fun was spending time that evening talking with
    Glenda. I’m grateful.

  5. I was fortunate to be able to meet up with Glenda the night before SOBCon–she’s a great gal. Sounds like she rocked that presentation at SOBCon!

  6. This was an eye opener session with Glenda and probably one of the most educational and inspirational sessions to me. Thank you for sharing your reflections.

  7. Karen, she did great. In every way.

  8. Thanks Duong – I agree.

  9. Pingback: Deaf Nation and SOBCon’09 | A Deaf Mom Shares Her World

  10. Pingback: Do It Myself Blog - Glenda Watson Hyatt » SOBCon Recap

  11. Pingback: Sobcon: Divine Opportunity, Experience and Connections

  12. Pingback: Consider SOBcon 2010 « Levite Chronicles