how to measure the cost

Last week, we visited Crabtree & Evelyn in Chicago. As we were looking around the store, the sales representative said, “you get 50% off the price of one item if you give me your email address.”

Tonight I found a business card on my desk. “Free sub when you join the East Coast Club at www.psfortwayne.com.”

We gave our email address to both places. We received $8 off at C & E and the sandwich at Penn Station will be about $5.

Yesterday we ordered online from Pizza Hut. Because it was the first time ordering, we got 20% off on our $40 order. We got $8 for selling our email address to them.

Last night we headed over to Borders for a book. I had a 30% off coupon for an $18 book.

Later this week, we will go to Red Robin for Hope’s birthday burger. She gets a free burger and Nancy and I split one. Four of us eat for the price of two, just for the price of our email address.

I’ve saved a lot of money this week just for giving up my email address. But, of course, I’ve given up attention as well. Every one of those companies sends me emails. Every email takes handling somehow, whether simply deleting it, or setting up a filter to move it to the delete file, or reading it in case there is another useful coupon.

So the question is simple: What parts of yourself are you giving up for short term benefits and long term entanglements and/or relationships?

Is it worth it?

3 responses to “how to measure the cost

  1. Now THERE’S a sobering thought for a Monday morning! But that IS the question, isn’t it? In fact, it’s pretty much THE question.

    The thing is, how we handle the answer has a powerful affect on our futures as well, wouldn’t you say?

    Thanks for the noggin nudge this morning, Jon!

  2. This is a many-layered question. Thanks for posing it, Jon.

  3. I just went through and deleted a lot of my “subscriptions” for this very reason. The “savings” or sercret tips, etc… simply weren’t worth the added cost.