open-sourcing my attention

It’s Sunday afternoon. I should be taking a nap, I suppose, but I’m not. I’m sitting here.

I realized that I have writing that I could be doing for four blogs (two of my own and two where I guest). I have an ebook that I’ve started which talks about 10 principles of developing followers. I have a pile of reading to do. And I have 45 minutes (or did).

As I looked at all the possibilities and the constrains, I did what any normal person would do. I asked my twitter friends.

They were very helpful.

Of course I took their advice, but as I was eating my snickerdoodle, I realized that I was giving them too much responsibility, responsibility that belonged to me.

I need to decide which project. I need to sort through the options. I can ask for counsel (and probably should), but I’m the one that has to turn away from twitter and pick one project and work on it.

Too often I spend time sorting through the list, trying to decide which project. And getting none of them done.  And then blaming (implicitly) other people for being so interesting or so demanding or so inviting or so something.

Instead, I could take some time and pick one and get it done.

Kind of like this.

Got to go. Thanks for helping me think. Enjoy your coffee (or tea) and cookies (or biscuits).

9 responses to “open-sourcing my attention

  1. We’re all so bright and shiny, aren’t we?😉

    Hope you get some amazing things accomplished. Or, ya know, nap. Naps are fun.

  2. But there’s something about the playful conversation that helps to loosen things up, to achieve distance, to help us look at our (own) lists again with fresh eyes, and a smile, and a lightened heart… don’t you think?

    Thanks for sharing the cookies. Good luck with your writing.

  3. Pingback: HyperBored » Blog Archive » Coming to grip

  4. You’re not alone. I face this lack of focus, indecisiveness, and tendency to procrastinate every day. I’ve learned that the only alternative is to begin, now, if I could just figure out which project to begin next I wouldn’t be stumbling about the next and contemplating a nap.

  5. Rebecca – I don’t know you well at all, but at the risk of telling you what
    to do, I’d start with *that* one. You know, that project. The one that
    you’ve been not doing all day.
    🙂

  6. Ah, well that would be a blog post, but seeing as I wrote “next” when I meant “net” in the comment above SLEEP is actually a better option. lol

  7. sleep well, then. Sometimes, that is exactly the next thing.

  8. Does this mean that if I find myself baking Snickerdoodle cookies today instead of working I can tell my wife it is Jon Swanson’s fault? “He talked about Snickerdoodles and I just couldn’t resist the urge to have one.”

    Back to work, I suppose.

  9. absolutely. Blame me. (and send me some)