Have a seat. Just for a minute or two.

January is almost over. It’s been a strange month of weather delays, traveling, inaugural activities, sickness, bills, economic uncertainties, and everything else that disrupts our schedules.

Many of us are trying to remember the commitments we made at the beginning of the month (year). Some of us had three words. Some had a goal. Some had a strong commitment to not set goals or pick words.

I understand.

I had three words – focus, singing, deliberate practice – and I’m wondering what it was I was going to focus on, and what, exactly, I was going to practice. And yet, I still remember the words. I have made incremental progress. I’m guessing that you have, too.

But there is still a bunch more to do.

So take a couple minutes. Take a deep breath. Take another drink of coffee. I’ll have a couple questions for you in a minute.

Ready?

What one thing are you going to make sure you get done today?

How are you going to do it?

What’s the first step?

How do you want me to ask God to help you?

————–

Okay. Take off. Go do it. Let me know how I can help.

13 responses to “Have a seat. Just for a minute or two.

  1. Great post! Here is what I’m up to:

    I am going to connect on a deep level with all my clients today.

    To do this, I’m going to be an extraordinary listener.

    The first step is to set the intention for our conversation.

    My prayer is to show up powerfully.

    Thanks for making me think about this…

  2. Jon, thanks for the invitation to stop for a minute. I’ve had a good January but when I look back at the way I wanted to set out… it’s the bits about being joyful and making music (both literally and metaphorically) that tend to get neglected. By me anyway.

    Think I still have some baggage that I need to leave at the side of the road somewhere!

  3. What one thing are you going to make sure you get done today?

    – I will write today.

    How are you going to do it?

    – With prayers and a keyboard.

    What’s the first step?

    – Figuring out what to write.

    How do you want me to ask God to help you?

    – Pray it will help someone.

    Thanks.

  4. Jon, your timing is always impeccable. Snow days, holidays, extra kids and sleepovers, husband’s pending foot surgery, it’s all been a little disruptive. I needed the breather – and the coffee, though I’m holding out until a couple of meetings later on that one.

    Follow up. Today is the day I will follow up with prospects, some contacts from a couple of events, and a couple of friends who are facing difficult times. Today is the day I follow up.

    Pray for wisdom, discernment and grace.

  5. charrise –
    Hi! welcome. Here’s what I love about what you said: making the specific
    choice before each conversation to listen. Each conversation. That’s
    huge…and actually quite simple.
    Thanks.

  6. you know, as I think back through your tweets, you talked much about the
    gaelic at the beginning of the class, not so much later. It was fun to watch
    how excited you were about it.

    I’m cheering as you look back and ahead.

  7. Gallagher –
    I’m on it.

    Of course, sometimes the way to find out what to write is to just start
    writing.🙂

  8. Cheryl –
    “Today is the day I follow up” – a wonderful way to say it. I wouldn’t wait
    for the coffee, though. And if I may, I’ll add “perseverance” to the list.

  9. I’m not going to let the weather get me down.

    By being thankful for the great things that have happened lately.
    I’ll start by giving thanks.

    How do you want me to ask God to help you? Please ask for boundless energy!

  10. Jon, I need focus and drive.

    To many good idea’s were left in 2008. Today is the first day of me being generous every day. I’m waiting for God’s opportunity and if one doesn’t come soon I’m going to go make one. Maybe buy the person behind me a coffee or something.

  11. making one is a good idea, friend.

  12. Philip-
    Making one is a really good really inspiring idea.
    Jon- Ah, I don’t know.

  13. Pingback: progress reflections halfway through January « Levite Chronicles