Fran died. It’s okay.

My friend Fran died at 12:20 this morning. You met her when I wrote about her desire to serve a week ago.

I was listening to a Nichole Nordeman song yesterday, one that I listen to a lot. I thought it sounded a lot like Fran. Here’s part of it.

I don’t mind if you’ve got something nice to say about me
And I enjoy an accolade like the rest
You could take my picture and hang it in a gallery
Of all who’s who and so-n-so’s that used to be the best
At such’n’such … it wouldn’t matter much

I won’t lie, it feels alright to see your name in lights
We all need an ‘Atta boy’ or ‘Atta girl’
But in the end I’d like to hang my hat on more besides
The temporary trappings of this world

I want to leave a legacy
How will they remember me?
Did I choose to love? Did I point to You enough
To make a mark on things?
I want to leave an offering
A child of mercy and grace who
blessed Your Name unapologetically
And leave that kind of legacy.

She didn’t get a bunch of accolades. But, oh my. She leaves a legacy.

7 responses to “Fran died. It’s okay.

  1. What beautiful words to share.

    Much love.

  2. Peace to Fran and her people, and you.

  3. Sorry for your loss, Jon. I know how special she was by the words you have used to honor her.

  4. peace be with you and those close to Fran

  5. Friends, I’m sorry I’m not keeping up with comments today. I was sharing in
    tech duties for another funeral (video and audio recording and running a
    little powerpoint). It was, as my tech colleague Lee said, “Our biweekly
    brush with death.” That is what is happening in our congregation – 11 deaths
    in the last few months. And Fran isn’t part of our congregation, but is
    close to many people from here.

    It’s a good reminder, all this dying around me, to be making the most of
    opportunities. In fact, that was what I read this morning.

    So I’ll keep trying. Thanks for the words of comfort and the prayer for
    Fran’s family…who are moving ahead with Love Church.

  6. Brian Greulach

    In my lifetime I was blessed to be a part of the Love Church family and to have known Phil and Fran Mortensen personally. Frannie was a one of a kind person, and I will miss her greatly, but know she is in the presence of the Lord now!