25 things

I never do memes. I don’t know how to pronounce the word or how to explain it in non-technical metaphors. Unless, of course, a meme is like playing idea tag, where you have to answer a question before you can tag someone else. Or it’s like an ice breaker at a party (which I don’t like).

That said, both jenhames and chris brogan tagged me and so I will write. My version, however is to make five lists of five things.

5 things I was doing 10 years ago:

  • going to soccer games for an 11-year-old son who still wanted to be a professional soccer player. (Now he is a writer. About sports).
  • learning how to be 40. (never figured it out. Gave up after 10 years.)
  • dealing with a daughter in second grade. (actually, she was dealing with second grade. She spent the next 6 years dealing with school. And then she got to high school and figured it all out.)
  • helping figure out how to keep college students in college. (I gave up.)
  • having no clue that I would be a pastor now. (Nope. No idea at all.)

5 snacks I like:

  • orange slice candy
  • honeycrisp apples
  • corn dogs
  • peanuts
  • coffee (Hey. It’s a snack. and a food group.)

5 places I’ve lived

  • New Hope, MN (went to the same elementary school as Rick Mahn).
  • Carol Stream, IL
  • Austin, TX (1982-85, UT-Austin)
  • Fort Wayne, IN
  • Goshen, IN

5 jobs I’ve had

  • hauling the garbage at a camp (camp closed)
  • operating an IBM 370/125 mainframe computer (1974-1980) (Yep. I was in IT before it was called IT) (organization closed)
  • production helper for marketing department at company that made gravity-flow racks for coolers in convenience stores. (Company closed)
  • college professor (College was acquired. Now it’s closing)
  • late-night program host at college radio station (students don’t run it anymore)

5 updates on posts I’ve written

  • Hope got her license and is now driving.
  • I finished the deck.
  • I finished the bondo-ing the car. Rust hasn’t showed up yet.
  • I haven’t lost any weight
  • I’m still not good at managing my time (but I’ve talk a lot with Chris since this post.

Okay. Time to pass on the tag: Paul Merrill? Five pictures. Rick Mahn? Five happiness reasons. Rob Hatch? Five of anything. Amy? Five family stories. Jim Hughes? Five things about visiting people in the hospital for non-hospital people.

Thank you for playing.

13 responses to “25 things

  1. Five family stories coming up! The first one is posted.

  2. i knew i could count on you!

  3. Five things about visiting people in the hospital for non-hospital people has been posted! http://difficultseasons.com/2008/11/17/5-things-about-visiting-the-hospital-for-non-hospital-people/

  4. this is perfect. Absolutely perfect. Go see the simplicity of what Jim
    wrote. Single best phrase? *”You’re entering what small bit of privacy the
    patient has left…”*

  5. Thanks, Jon. And here is a response to my tag: About one of our favorite subject, COFFEE! http://blog.jeremey.com/jeremeys_weblog/2008/11/five-characteristics-of-good-coffee.html

  6. Thanks for the tag, Jon!

    I am planning to post 5 photos – maybe this evening, when I get a chance to catch my breath.

  7. Jon – thanks for tagging me!🙂 I’ll get a post up by this evening. Really liked the 5×5 approach you took to the 5 things meme.

  8. Thanks, Jon.

    I finished the post. It will be up first thing in the morning!

  9. Pingback: 5 Things – Happiness

  10. I like this post a lot. It’s nice to feel like i know you a little better.

  11. The things you were doing 10 years ago make me wonder what i’ll be doing 10 years from now!!

    Stream Host
    Stream Host

  12. Thanks for the link. I really do enjoy reading your blog – I consider it the reflective time of my day. Life seems to move by so fast, and I appreciate that your words give me reason to pause and think about the slower (and often most important) things.