twelve hundred miles and stars

I quit driving about 30 minutes ago. We spent the weekend in northwestern Wisconsin. And we drove 600 some miles back today. Of course, we don’t know exactly how many miles because the odometer doesn’t display. But I’m pretty sure the drive and the time isn’t clearly measured in miles anyway.

My great-grandfather homesteaded the land. He’s long gone. But the deer keep the paths through the woods clear. I followed the path on Sunday afternoon. I cried while walking. I apologize to you for not spending more time walking on those paths.

When you lay on your back on the driveway, down close to Corcoran Road, you can see enough stars to make city kids say, “wow.” And you can see satellites and shooting stars, if you wait. And watch. We waited, all four of us, and watched. If it were named today, it would be called “Cotton Candy” instead of “Milky Way”. I apologize to you for not spending more time waiting and watching.

I’ll be back tomorrow to write more, about other things, the things I usually write about. But I wanted to let you know that we’ve been to the stars and the woods and back.

5 responses to “twelve hundred miles and stars

  1. Wow.

    The woods look a lot like the woods at the back of my new house. There are deer there as well.

    That’s making me think wow too.

    Glad you had a good weekend

    Joanna

  2. Sounds delightful. Beautiful. And a beautiful photo, too.

  3. thanks Joanna. Go walk.đŸ™‚

    Meg-the photo doesn’t, obviously, capture the multidimensional, multisensory quietness. But it is a good reminder.

  4. grateful with you for your opportunity to the stars and the woods and back

  5. I grew up in western Wisconsin. Whenever I get back there, I am amazed by the number of stars I see. Stars that I don’t remember as a child, stars I took for granted. There is something special about being away from it all, and really feeling one with nature and the universe.