outside the window

It’s the end of the week. For me, anyway.

I take Fridays off and so when I walk out of my office, it will be the weekend. (I have this Sunday opportunity/responsibility which guides my schedule).

I’ve been working until 5:30 or 6:30 in the evening, depending on what time I get in and what is happening during the evening. When I talked with Nancy a bit ago, I said I would leave at 5:15. A little early.

Except.

I started this day at 6:30 am. I haven’t seen her awake yet today.

So I’m out of here. That’s her waiting. Outside the window.

Who invites you to leave early, waiting patiently always, understanding always, but probably ready to see you?

What spouse or child or parent or friend? Or God?

I’m out of here.

5 responses to “outside the window

  1. Good reminder of the One who is always waiting & longing for our presence.

  2. i wish she was outside *my* window waiting for me to come hang outđŸ™‚

  3. quiltpunk, i was thinking earlier tonight that i’d like to sit on the beach with you tomorrow. or sit on my deck and enjoy a cherry coke.

  4. This just made me teary,

  5. Jon, what a great reminder of why we endeavor to work so hard in the first place. It makes spending that time with our loved ones so much more important and rewarding.