Standalone mode

“We have now reached an altitude where you may now turn on personal electronic devices. However, you may not use cell phones, televisions, radios, or any other devices sending or receiving a signal.”

If you have flown recently, you know the speech. It’s a frustrating rule for me because the camera I use most IS my cell phone. The pictures I use here are pictures I take and most are taken with my enV phone.

When I was talking with a friend, he indicated surprise that I couldn’t turn off the cell phone part of the “personal electronic device.” So I decided to look again.

Standalone mode.

That’s what the setting is on my phone. When standalone mode is “on”, the phone doesn’t try to connect with the rest of the world. It becomes safe to turn on in the airplane, at least when the plane reaches the right altitude. I tried it the other day and was able to take all pictures I wanted to. I was shooting inside the cabin and out the window. We have pictures of Massachusetts and Michigan, of tray table locks and Indiana rivers.

It was great.

Until I wanted to upload them to my flickr account to share with others, the way I always do. Suddenly I realized that standalone mode lets me capture images but it keeps me from sharing them. And my phone is built to do both.

Just like me. There are days that all I want to do is hide, to capture images and impressions, to not have to interact with anyone. And then, in the middle of those days, as something suddenly makes sense, I realize how important it is to me to be able to share, to interact, to connect. At those moments I understand what a people person I am.

I’m guessing that most of us need to spend most of our time with standalone mode turned “off”. It’s nice for occasional flights, while we are getting perspective from 21,000 feet, to stand (or sit) alone. But to be what we are made to be, we need each other.

Right?

5 responses to “Standalone mode

  1. Great observation, Jon, and one I’m going to be thinking about today. You’re right; we need – and are made for – both modes. The imbalance happens when we forget that.

  2. And we tend to balance each other, I think. The outgoing and the standalone each gain from the other.

  3. Thanks, Robert, for stopping by. The being made for part, that is the challenge. Especially when each of us needs different amounts of each.

    And Becky, moving from inside each of us to the interaction of us, that is significant. Because some need more standalone, some need more interaction, and then collaboration, helps each grow and deepen.

    Thanks you two.

  4. i would be on stand a lone a lot of the time
    i’d estimate 70%

    but because of my commitment to my family
    i can no longer do that

    staying present and connected to them is good practice for me

    now when i swing it on over to faith
    i still feel that i have to make time for it
    and i covet my alone time

    if i could get God to where he’s blended with me and part of my stand a lone time
    that would be groovy!

  5. well, um, without being too cliche, that’s the point. Though it may be blending the other way.

    But it’s much easier to say than to do.

    Ah, but as someone recently reminded me, there is a yoke that is easy; that, when leaned into, is lifegiving rather than lifedraining.

    But I, too often, work too hard to rest in it. As you will see in my very next post.