just wondering

What’s the question that “Good Friday” answers?

I’m thinking about Good Friday services and thinking, a little, about what it would look like to have one here.  The first question that I thought about asking was, “What do you want from a Good Friday service?

The more I thought about it, however, I realized that my opening question matters more. The latter one, about what we want from a service is about us, from an experiential perspective. That’s fine, of course. We are created to have experiences. But I’m curious about the larger conversation. What, in descriptive terms, is the question that Good Friday is a turn in, that this death answers?

Of course, the follow-on question is, “What question do you wish it answered?”

I’m curious about your answers. They will help me think about having a virtual Good Friday service, an exploration of some aspects of that day.

You can leave comments here or you can email me at jnswanson at gmail dot com.

This is a journey into the trees. I’m not sure where the path goes. But I’m interested in your thoughts.

7 responses to “just wondering

  1. Though it has been made rather cliche through posters, greeting cards, and other visuals, one question is “How much does God love me?” “Greater love has no man than this that he lays down his life for his friends.”

  2. Jon-

    It has become more and more strange to hold one day apart from the entire paschal cycle. I say this knowing how important it is to understand each piece of the cycle.

    To that, I am left wondering about the place of death in our lives. I mean both literal and figurative death.

    In the figurative at least, we sometimes focus on the recognition that an old way life must change, and the letting go to experience the new life. We remain afraid of what is in between, because in between, there is death.

    In literal death, we get suspended in the moment and what is on either side, is lost. Alas, there is great power in what was and what is to become.

    So, one question that Good Friday may, is that of death’s purpose in our lives and of how do we/might we receive death.

    Matthew begins to lead us there. “My God, My God why have you forsaken me?” should bring us to the psalm. Psalm 22, brings us to the moment of death, wrestling all the way, but in the end proclaiming faith loudly and clearly. “for he has done it”.

    …just thinking. Thanks for the ?.

  3. rob. good thinking and good question.
    amy. good question.

    you both have me thinking. I just have to decide whether to answer here or elsewhere for the moment.

    hmm.

  4. I guess as someone coming into all of this
    i’d want to know what Jesus *hoped* we would feel on the day of his death

    at the time No one knew for sure that he would rise again ( this is all based on what little knowledge i have)
    we know it now today
    so did he predict what we (now) would understand/feel from his death
    or was he focused on his fiend’s understanding/feelings
    or both

  5. Perhaps, as a companion to Amy’s question, Good Friday answers the question: “What does the price for my sins look like?”

  6. Kat – both. And your musing is wonderful. one of the things that is funny about how we look at the bible is that we often treat it breathlessly. and by that, i mean without breath.

    But what if we were to take John 13-17 and read it as if it is a guy who knows what he is going to face…and come out the other side..and is talking to guys that he knows don’t-however many times he’s explained it-understand?

    I mean, he talks about not being afraid, he talks about what’s going to happen. He finally starts talking to God ABOUT them and about us.

    okay. it sounds like i need to do some thinking for tomorrow.

  7. Pingback: Easter Monday: Reflections on Holy Week « Anna’s Attic