hmmm

One thing I’m trying to do in this blog is let you inside my heart. I would have said inside my brain, but that is a very odd place. Instead, I’m trying to invite you to watch as I’m being shaped.

As a result, I gotta tell you that I’m in one of those odd in-between writing places at this moment. I had a focus for the month of August. I was writing the signs. During June and July I was reporting on our travels and was talking a lot about community. At this moment, I am between travels and am, I think, tired.

The weekend of September 21-23 there will be more traveling as I head to NYC for an event which remembers the Fulton Street Prayer Meeting which started 150 years ago. A guy decided to start praying. Out of that grew a spiritual awakening in NYC. A couple of us are going to the event and to spend some time with a family from Fort Wayne moving to NYC to live Jesus.

I had several ideas about subjects for posting, and will follow up on them. What I am wrestling with, however, is whether I want to commit myself, and you, to a regular schedule of posts. Something like one day a week on signs. One day a week on cross pictures and discussion of the implications of the cross for daily life.

But right now, that seems far more structured than I want to work here.

So I’m thinking and reviewing and reading. And listening. Listening to the hearts of the people around me who are wrestling with real questions themselves. I want to write, not just for the sake of writing, but for the sake of helping people understand. The other week I realized that I use stories to help people understand what they already know about God and each other.

So maybe I’m just waiting for the next story.

Thanks for waiting with me.

 

Powered by ScribeFire.

3 responses to “hmmm

  1. Hey Jon,

    I’ve been lurking here for months, but I wanted to share my opinion on this one… =) I don’t think you need more structure – I love reading about whatever is on your mind (or in your heart) at the moment, and if that means 3 posts today and then none for the next 4 days, that’s great – it goes with the flow of what you’re thinking and feeling.

    I think the thing that I love most about your blog is how spontaneous and sincere it is – and it seems like planning out posts according to a schedule might take away some of that. Or maybe not – that’s just my two cents… Whatever you do is sure to help people understand – just in different ways! =)

  2. Listening can be hard. I know I struggle with it. But the few times I remember to slow down and listen, I gain so much more than I ever could imagine.

  3. Okay everyone. So go to the links for both of these people. Sarah is doing an amazing project with drama, wanting to give college students a real experience which is incredibly powerful. Thomas is working on understanding how starting from a broken heart can take us deep into love. Extend the conversations for both of these new friends.