which sense?

Short question this morning. or maybe just a musing.

What is the difference between looking and listening?

If a friend is looking for a job, is that different than listening for a job? If someone is looking for trouble, is that different than listening for trouble? Do we see callings or hear callings? Can you handle more visual chaos or auditory chaos. If you want to understand someone better, do you shut your eyes so you can listen deeper or shut your ears so you can hear deeper?

Do the eyes connect more closely to the heart, or the ears?

Powered by ScribeFire.

6 responses to “which sense?

  1. As I’m reading your blog to Don, he turns around with a grin and says “what did you say?” Despite that, I vote for ears. The eyes can quickly prejudice your reasoning. But why then, when my kids were small and asked the question, “would you rather lose your sight or your hearing?” I chose hearing? My guess is fear. The fear of what I cannot see.
    okay, now I’m uncomfortable.
    Thanks for the eye-opener Jon!

  2. there’s definetly a tension here. Because visual cues can often deepen the meaning or contradict it! But in order to go really deep, to find out what’s behind what’s being said, I find *I* have to close my own eyes because I often cannot hear it, cannot articulate it, cannot face it if anything or anyone is distracting me visually. So my tendency is to offer the same to others if they are sharing deeply with me.

    I think that may be one of the reason that walking facilitates conversation – because you feel you can go deeper without someone looking right into your eyes – it seems like less of a violation. ditto lying in bed.

  3. I truly believe we don’t all pick up on the same cues…some of us are more sensitive to tone of voice than to non-verbal facial expressions or a look in someone’s eyes as a means of hearning another’s heart. I wonder if the difference is related to one’s learning style?

    (Start listening for how people express their responses. Does a person say, “I hear you”? or “I see what you’re saying”? Interesting follow-up to that is to find out if they see themselves as visual or auditory learners. (Or kinesthetic, if they reply, “I’ve got a handle on that”….?!?!?))

    I am a visual learner. Recently, I had lunch with husband and sister-in-law at a Panera inside a mall. It was crowded inside the store, so we ate at a table out in the mall area. Eventually, I checked out of the conversation, something I rarely do. The visual distraction of people coming and going had the effect of my tuning out with my ears, although the extra mall noise didn’t bother me in terms of my ability to converse. Hmmm…..

  4. In response to Amy’s comment. I consider myself a very visual learner, but noise and commotion distract me and hamper my ability to converse much more than visual stimulation – and I’m quite a people watcher too.

  5. I think the eyes connect to the heart. This is because, in my opinion, the face is important. There is so much more to conveying feelings, etc. than just hearing tone. I can say any words with any tone, but if my face doesn’t match, then the message will not be believable. Your face tells the real story and this has a direct connection to what your heart senses/feels.

  6. That last comment (#5) was written by me! Anna and I are constantly fighting over who’s logged in on WordPress. This time I lost!