great question

This morning, Chris twittered the question, “What’s YOUR favorite question to ask?” I didn’t read all the responses, but I loved the diagnostic it provides.

“Why?”
“Why not?”
“What’s the last book you read?”
“How can I help?”
“Where do you want to be in 5 years (or 5 months)?”
“How’s your soul?”
“Why don’t you trust him/her/yourself/Him?”
“Are we there yet?”
“Why me?”
“What if that didn’t matter?”
“Are you happy?”
“What if ____?”

Do the questions you ask people advance ideas or stop them? Do they focus on you or on others? Do they remind people of possibilities or of problems? Do they invite change or controversy or frustration or faith?

As you walk into this weekend. ask yourself, “What question do I want to be known for?” I may end a question with a preposition, but what if that didn’t matter?

How can I help?

[Oh, and for an interesting observation about friendship, go to Kester’s blog.]

Technorati Tags: , ,

Powered by ScribeFire.

2 responses to “great question

  1. I agree that these are great questions.

    But, reading this reminded me of one of my pet peeves — friends who don’t listen, but just use your opening statement as a basis for them to talk about themselves.

    For instance, I say, “My husband seems worried about something…” and they come back with the story of *their* marriage.

    In the category of every cloud and its lining – this peeve of mine has taught me to triply insure that I don’t do this to others. Even if all I can come up with is, “Gosh, that must be awful/wonderful/scary”, I try real hard to let them tell their story without moving the spotlight.

    These questions are the sort of things that let others open up.

    Thanks for your blog – I really enjoy reading what you are up to.

  2. I love “What if that didn’t matter?”

    In this past week, I have been part of several very stimulating discussions that started with some variation of “What are reading?” or “What good movies have you watched recnetly?” Very interesting that these convesrations very quickly move from the thing outside oneself–book, movie–to many things inside oneself–worldview, character, values.