finishing.




Windows

Originally uploaded by jon.swanson

I have a hard time finishing things. Starting is easy. There is something delightful about starting a new project or a new process or a new event. somehow, however, the finishing is tough.

It happened again this morning as Nancy and I were washing windows. Partway through I started to feel anxious. I just wanted to walk away. Part of the problem was that my fingers hurt from sliding the little plastic things that hold the storm windows in place.

However, the core of the problem was that we were starting at the beginning and working all the way through to the end. I usually work on six things at a time, moving from one to the next. But I don’t finish. For this project we were working together (which meant that I got to see that smile on the other side of the glass-which should have been enough motivation to keep going). This meant that I had to stay on this task. And it got tough in the middle.

This morning, however, I read Chris Brogan’s post on saying no, and so I said no to starting anything new. I stayed on task. And now the windows are done. It only took a couple hours. Things look better. We worked well together. Not a bad start to the weekend.

Maybe I should finish more things.

One response to “finishing.

  1. Ouch. Right between the eyes.