on the pile

If I were good, I’d link to a bunch of book at Amazon and then if you clicked on them and then ordered them I’d get valuable consideration through the Amazon Associates program.

But I’m not that good.

However, I thought I’d let you know some of what I’m reading right now. In no particular order.

The Forgotten Ways by Alan Hirsch
Spiritual Direction by Henri Nouwen
High Impact Church by Linus Morris
The Cloister Walk and Amazing Grace by Kathleen Norris
Organic Community by Joseph Myers
The Horse and His Boy by C.S. Lewis
Mark by God
Matthew by God
The Voice of Jesus by Gordon Smith
Sacred Companions by David Benner

Some of these are rereading, though most are for the first time.

Some of these are about spiritual direction, an idea which has been on my mind recently. Gordon Smith distinguished between counseling (focusing on th emotional needs of someone), mentoring (focusing on helping develop a set of skills) and spiritual direction (focusing on helping people hear the Spirit, and grow). I find that I like the third of these and am far more comfortable helping people figure out where and who God is than focusing primarily on the emotional struggles.

So that’s what I’m reading. If you want to know more about any of these books, let me know.

Technorati Tags:

Powered by ScribeFire.

Comments are closed.