From commenting to conversing

It sounded good as a headline, though I’m not sure where the post is actually going.

But I started two converations with one post a couple days ago, and wanted to followup with the half that was about to-do lists. Rick talked about having an old list which had a large number of undone items on it.

I’ve been doing what i’m doing for almost 7 years. I look around my office at some piles that have been around that long. I’m not sure I want to look for any old to do lists.

What I wonder, increasingly, is how much of what is on my list is from what is really important and what is what I think is important. I wonder whether by not getting some things done, we realize that they really weren’t core issues.

But then I wonder if I had gotten them done, would we be further along?

But then I wonder why there is so much biblical focus on TODAY as opposed to long-range planning.

But then I wonder whether I’m rationalizing.

But then I wonder.

Powered by ScribeFire.

4 responses to “From commenting to conversing

  1. Leaving here in 7 weeks is brining things into focus – I must prepare things for Carolyn, who is coming in 2 weeks. Thankfully we have some overlap!

    God give us all the ability to do what pleases Him most each day. Our wisdom is not enough.

  2. “But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” Phil 3: 13b-14

    Can we forget the old “to-do” lists? What is needed now? Maybe something that was on the old needs to be rethought, and then rewritten. But we need to press on, in the sacred now.

  3. i agree completely, laurie. And, Paul’s closing phrase matches what went through my head this morning. The question to ask God is not “What do you want me to do today?” but “will you please use me today?” The first, I think, might give us the option of not liking what is there. The latter pushes us to surrender of the day. Of the moment.

    I do like (conceptually, not just practically) the idea of setting aside the old list and starting fresh, with the current grace and needs and understanding.

  4. “God gives us the ability to do what pleases Him most each day.” Very cool. And, really, don’t we most of the time know what that is? It’s pretty spelled out for us – love God, love people, work wholehearedly. Sure, sometimes there are those moments of, “God, I don’t know what to do here.” So the struggle is, are we listening for God in that “sacred now” and then are we doing it? When we say we can’t – it’s really we don’t want to, we won’t, ie disobedience.