the problem with passwords

In our current computer culture, passwords are necessary. Evil people do evil things when the have access to passwords. And so I am perfecting willing to be part of the password culture. In fact, I have a wonderful password on our server that is like tm7kw3-oO. (Though not like that at all and so don’t try to deconstruct it. And the funny thing is that I remember the password in all its oddness.)

However.

Passwords get in the way of productivity.

A guy that’s trying to start up a new area of ministry was working on a computer last week. It didn’t recognize a peripheral. After trying everything, he rebooted. And then he realized that he didn’t have the password. And then, nice guy that he is, he didn’t call me.

Two passwords. The one to the computer. The one to me. And BOTH kept him form being able to do what he was trying to do for the church, for God. And both barriers could have been prevented if I had done two simple things.

1. Thought far enough ahead to give him a working password.

2. Thought far enough ahead to say, “If you are calling to get a simple piece of information, call. No matter what.”

We can’t let the passwords that exist to stop evil people from doing evil things keep good people from doing good things.

So what passwords do you put in place? What could you hand out that would give people permission instead of making them ask for it? How can you help volunteers be successful?

I’m sorry Doug. I’m glad you are infinitely patient. And thanks for the training.

technorati tags:, ,

Blogged with Flock

Comments are closed.