Mindset: a pseudo-review

Mindset: The New Psychology of Success
Carol S. Dweck
2006

kitchen angel holding whateverI’ve been reading and writing about Switch by the Heath brothers for several months. Occasionally, some of the concepts they mention have pushed me to look at the research behind their words. So it was with the idea of “mindset”.

There are, according to Carol Dweck, two kinds of mindsets. The fixed mindset says, “I am what I am” and all experiences and actions exist prove what I am. The growth mindset says, “I am learning” and all experiences and actions provide opportunities to learn. I’d love to write a wonderful summary/review post, but the book is due at the library on Monday and I can’t renew it. So instead of a summary of the book, let me illustrate the concepts.

“See? I messed it up.  I’m an idiot” is a fixed mindset statement.

“Well, now I know not to try that way again” is a growth mindset statement.

“I’ll give that a try” is a growth mindset statement.

“But what if I can’t do it” is a fixed mindset statement.

“Treat me as a genius, here are my scores” is a fixed mindset statement.

“What’s a genius? I can learn that” is a growth mindset statement.

“I’ve started over lots of times” is a growth mindset statement.

“I could never go back” is a fixed mindset statement.

“What can I learn today” is a growth mindset statement.

“How can I protect my reputation” is a fixed mindset statement.

“I have to make my first post (or next post) perfect or they will think I’m a loser.” is a fixed mindset statement.

“Let’s throw the idea out and start the conversation” is a growth mindset statement.

So what do you think?

5 responses to “Mindset: a pseudo-review

  1. Reminds me of the joke, “I’m schizophrenic, and so am I,” for at times I sense both within me.

  2. Hey, and your header graphic makes me smile.

  3. But what if I can’t make a good comment? How would I protect my reputation?

  4. but if I never risk, I never learn.

  5. I think my tendency is to have a fixed mindset – but my desire is to have a growth mindset.