But doing stuff takes time away

My volume of writing here has dropped off. I am writing fewer posts and most of them come early in the week.

Part of me gets really annoyed by that. I want to be a consistent blogger. I want to build traffic. I want to be helpful to people, to think and reflect on things that matter.

Another part of me wants to slap that first part of me.

  • I am still writing five days a week at 300wordsaday.com.
  • I am producing videos almost every week for my day job.
  • I am having delightfully significant¬† and consistent conversations with a handful of people around me.
  • I have, in each of the past two weeks, spent 3 hours each writing about 90 seconds of copy. (This in in contrast to writing 300 words posts in 30 minutes or less.)
  • I’m working with a bunch of wonderful people on a $1,276,144.44 capital campaign (the decimal points matter).
  • I spent two days out of town with Nancy.
  • I’m re-revising a piece of prose, and finding that the time is forcing me to rethink and revise.

I’m discovering that I have limited amounts of creativity, of revision, of troubleshooting, of words.And I’m discovering that if I pour energy into effective communication, it takes more time than I thought.

Today Amber Naslund said, “I’d so much rather we go out and DO stuff and talk about it than post everyone else’s “motivational” quotes. /cynicism.” I agree with her, mostly. (I don’t think she’s being cynical.) The challenge of going out and doing stuff is that we may not have enough words left when we come back to talk about it.

Because sometimes, the out there doesn’t leave much energy for in here.

Or maybe I’m just being lazy or not wanting to enough.

Maybe I just need a good motivational statement.

For more on Amber, here’s is our 5 Questions conversation.

5 responses to “But doing stuff takes time away

  1. What if it was a quiet reflection once a week…? That would be enough…for me, that would be enough.

  2. that, dear friend, isn’t a bad idea at all.

  3. Jon,

    Re: “Maybe I just need a good motivational statement.”

    You make an impact… In me. In your readers. Thank you for your contribution, your gift.

    Best,
    Justin McCullough

  4. Jon,

    Like you, I’m finding it challenging to be productive “out there” and “in here” as well and I’m not sure another well intended motivational statement will make that much of a difference. As I refine priorities and recognize the finiteness of my time, I know that “some things must decrease.”

    The funny thing is this: I am finding great satisfaction and fulfillment in the “out there” things I’m doing.

    Thanks for highlighting your struggles and thoughts here. It’s always so helpful to see how other people process the very things I’m beginning to unwrap myself.

  5. Pingback: Getting Tired Out There « Winnowing…sorting the wheat and chaff of my thoughts