Daily Archives: June 12, 2009

moving too fast

speedometerI was working on projects around the house. We were trying to get ready for a graduation party. The list was long, full of little things.

Including washing the front of the house.

Just part of the house, mind you, but enough that I needed to scrub with a brush and rinse with a hose. A hose with a sprayer. The sprayer that we can’t find.

The hardware store was close.

So I drove to the hardware store. Less than a mile. A quick trip.

Except for the time I spent chatting with the very polite police officer. And the time I waited for him to check my registration. And the time he spent illing out the citation. And the time he spent chatting with me again as he gave me the paper.

Apparently 14 miles an hour, which seems pretty slow, is too fast when the limit is 35 and it is 14 additional miles an hour.

The fact that the officer was harvesting people going too fast is irrelevant. I was over the limit. I wasn’t thinking about my current speed, I was thinking about the project list.

I should have known better. I had spent the previous day in bed, trying to sleep off a migraine. Migraines are my body’s ticket for going too fast, for thinking about the projects rather than about my current speed.

Two days. Two tickets.

I could point to some articles to help. Almost anything from Tim Walker, for example, helps us think about focus. Instead, I’m asking you to think this weekend.

1. What gauges on your dashboard are showing that you are over the speed limit?

2. In what areas of your life are you getting tickets?

3.  What would be the implications of losing your license?

4. How many people are in the car with you?

5. What if we slowed down?