Daily Archives: November 1, 2008

working the list

Other people are much better at lists than I am. Okay, maybe I should say that they are better at doing the things on their lists.

Sometimes, as you can see, I put the list right in front of me, right in the middle of my workspace. I leave it there.

And this week, I got some of the things on the list done, as you can read here.

(I should mention that in my offline life, I accomplished a few things as well.)

Video experiments

In his newsletter this week, Chris Brogan talked about the ways that internet video ISN’T working, and then said this:

So wait: am I telling you to get into video? And here’s why: because I’m not telling you to make a show for advertising. I’m telling you to make video that moves behaviors forward. Utterly different model. (And by the way, Gary at Wine Library TV uses this model on top of his show’s standalone fame.)

Internet video is for people. YOU happen to be people. You have an opportunity to use these tools for your business. What are your first steps?

On Sunday night, I had talked about the challenges of huge PowerPoint presentations. So, after reading his newsletter, I decided to solve the problem with training videos.

Here are videos to help people compress the images in PowerPoint presentations. Nothing fancy, but helpful for the people who need to know what to do. (PowerPoint 2003 and PowerPoint 2007)

Software experiments

I used Jing to create the videos. It is wonderful screen capture software. I created a powerpoint, set the part of the screen I wanted to capture, plugged in my headset mic, and recorded. At the end, I uploaded it to screencast.com (a one-button operation) and the video was live. I used Dropbox to access the files from both work and home. Couldn’t have do it without them.

Writing elsewhere

I wrote for GNMParents this week about listening to U2 with Hope. Look at the comments, too.

A couple weeks ago, I wrote about writing with responsibility for Joanna Young. I don’t think I told you about it. Now I am.

As I mentioned earlier this week, I’m part of Age of Conversation 2: “Why don’t they get it?” I’ve had time to read some of the chapters. I’m glad I’m one of the 237 authors.

Have a great weekend.