Daily Archives: March 10, 2008

write for your life

There are times that it feels like everything in a week is rushing straight at you. The view through your screen, you think, is more than you can bear.

Often, at these times, my response is to withdraw, to stop talking. My wife, my parents, my siblings, my cousins, my friends, my coworkers can all attest to my tendency to go inside when faced with onrushing traffic.

I might not be right.

It’s entirely possible that the thing to do when in this situation is to actually talk to others. It may be wise to ask for help, to acknowledge fallibility, to accept the possibility that everyone else already knows that you are human. And is okay with that fact.

Then, maybe, they can help you understand that you aren’t really in the middle of traffic. You are a story (and 15 feet) above it .

Write Right?