Daily Archives: August 5, 2007

Technology Resignation




Resignation

Originally uploaded by jon.swanson

On my desk when I got out of the service:

______________

TO: Pastor Jon Swanson
FROM: Hitachi VCR – Toddler Nursery
DATE: Sunday August 05, 2007
RE: Resignation

Sir:

It has been my pleasure to work with you and this church for the many years that I’ve been here. I have had the most wonderful time providing services for the toddlers that have come and gone, and enjoyed the moments of distraction that I was able to provide.

However, all things must have their end-and so must I.

I hereby tender my resignation; effective immediately.

Sincerely,
Tachi

_____________________

I only have an inkling of who did this. However, the creativity of going beyond, “Hey, the VCR doesn’t work” or “Nothing works around here” or “Where’s Jon.” is wonderful. When people who get paid nothing for working in the nursery during the church service are willing to find delight even when something breaks, that is invaluable.

We will be giving Tachi an appropriate going away party and looking for an appropriate home.

Rest Area




Rest

Originally uploaded by jon.swanson

Having been on the road more than usual this summer, I’m aware that some signs are more desirable than others. Some signs are related to my felt needs. Yield, No Parking, Stop, these are signs that relate to controlling my interactions with others. One sign in particular relates to me.

Rest Area.

I drink coffee. If you read this blog or look at my Flickr much, you know this. As a result, while traveling, I need breaks. I feel the need, with great urgency at times. And so, I am willing to stop. I choose to stop.

As we are working on our life journeys, there are times that we have to Stop, and we argue. But we are made to need to stop occasionally, regularly. These stops are for our own well-being, refocusing, refreshing.

We can’t stay in a rest area forever, since it is a pause, not a destination. But today, don’t ignore that sense inside calling you to stop, to take a break.

Rest.